Le Meridien Charlotte offers Express check-in, Elevator/lift, 24-hour front desk, Porter/bellhop, Express check-out, Self parking (surcharge), Outdoor pool, Outdoor pool (surcharge), Limo or town car service available, Computer station, Concierge services, Conference center, Conference space, Free pool cabanas, Pool sun loungers, Smoke-free property, Outdoor seasonal pool, RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge), Breakfast available (surcharge), 24-hour business center, Ballroom(s), Television in common areas, Wedding services, Free newspapers in lobby, Air conditioning, Daily housekeeping, Phone, Towels provided, Linens provided, Private bathroom, Private bathroom (not in room), Hair dryer, Hair dryer (on request), Iron/ironing board, Iron/ironing board (on request), Television, Television (surcharge), Cable TV service, Flat-panel TV, Rollaway/extra beds (free), Limited WiFi (surcharge) device count, WiFi (surcharge), Desk, Premium bedding, Heating, Shower only, Wheelchair accessible.
Le Meridien Charlotte is located at 555 South McDowell Street, Charlotte.
Le Meridien Charlotte has an average rating of 4 out of 5 based on 2423 guest reviews. It holds a 4-star Stars rating.
1 King Bed
Classic Room, 1 King Bed
1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed
Premium Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed
1 King Bed
Premium Room, 1 King Bed
1 King Bed
Classic Room, 1 King Bed (Mobility/Hearing Access, Roll-In Shwr)
1 King Bed
Premium Suite, 1 King Bed, Corner
1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed
Executive Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed
1 King Bed
Classic Room, 1 King Bed, City View
2 Double Beds
Classic Room, 2 Double Beds
1 King Bed
Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, City View
2 Double Beds
Classic Room, 2 Double Beds, City View
1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed
Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed
2 Double Beds
Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds, City View
2 Double Beds
Premium Room, 2 Double Beds




+52

The Le Meridien Charlotte receives mixed reviews, with some guests praising the friendly staff, city views, and convenient location. However, recurring concerns include elevator issues, inconsistent cleanliness, and problems with room amenities like hot water and functioning outlets. Recent changes to the lounge experience have also negatively impacted guest satisfaction, particularly regarding breakfast services.
The staff is great, friendly and attentive. They made the stay nice. As far as the hotel itself, it is clean and in a nice, quiet location. The downsides are that the walls are paper thin, it's old, the bathroom is small, the beds are low, and the mattresses are super soft.
By far the worst experience ever. The staff I’d very sweet and nice and tried their best to accommodate but at the same time the issues I had should have never happened. First I was double charged for my stay. And then was told I had to wait 2-3 business days to get my money back. Unacceptable… times are hard these days and travel on a budget is an all time high. This happened on a Friday it’s Monday and I’m still waiting for my money. The room was horrendous. Paint falling from the ceiling, wallpaper peeling from the wall, the cabinet for the fridge fell off, the sink would not drain and had an extra hole, the bathroom door would not close, the light at the front door flicker the entire time. My AC would not move and was stuck on 63 the entire time. It would not shut off at all. It was so cold, I’m hoping I don’t get sick from it. The elevator was broken, the staff used the elevator more than anything so it was crowded a lot. As a corporate travel agent I would not recommend the hotel to my clients at all. I would have probably had a better stay at a Motel 6.
I always try to stay at the Le Meridien when I can when I come to Charlotte. The hotel is nice as always, rooms are above average but not extraordinary for the price point. The reason for 4/5 after a few stays is because of some recent changes. Firstly, Divine and Shanae at the front desk were awesome. I enjoyed interacting with them and talked with Shanae every time I passed the desk and she was there. Valentina in the Sheraton lounge was very friendly and welcoming as well, I enjoyed talking with her over the course of multiple days. I received an upgrade to a junior suite based on my status. The view is probably the best view of the Charlotte skyline available in the whole city. Thank you for the upgrade. A concern I had was the changes to the lounge. The hotel is connected and shares facilities with a Sheraton. Both brands shared one lounge on the main floor that you can gain access to if you have the appropriate Marriott status. This is where breakfast was served, managers hours drinks were done, and more. Now, they have opened a Sheraton lounge on the 14th floor of the Sheraton building, which you have access to as a Le Meridien guest. Breakfast, manager's happy hour, and hors d'oeuvres are no longer served in the lobby level lounge (which is still there and open). It doesn't make a lot of sense to me to discontinue service at the lobby level lounge, which means Le Meridien guests have to take four elevator rides to get to breakfast or manager's hour. The issue with four elevator rides was exacerbated by two of the four Le Meridien elevators not working, and two of the four Sheraton elevators not working. Except during odd hours when you're the only one on the elevator, the wait for the elevator plus the ride time with stops at nearly every floor ranged from 5-12 minutes. With four elevator rides to get to breakfast and half of them not working, you can see how much time is taken away to do basic things. Like most people, I understand that businesses have to maintain and upgrade elevators from time to time, however, I was talking to someone on the elevator who frequents the hotel who said that the elevators have been like this for multiple months. Further, the elevators that serviced the parking garage were out and stairwells were closed to the parking garage, requiring you to go out into the rain and walk around the building in the weather to get to your vehicle. All in all, I still enjoyed my stay overall, but just the changes in the lounge being relocated to the Sheraton is probably enough of a reason that I will be looking to stay at the Sheraton from now on as opposed to the Le Meridien.
For the rate and price of this hotel I definitely expected more. I had booked a room through a third party vendor for one night for a Friday. I had already paid for the room in full through the third party vendor before checking in. Upon checking in the front desk found my reservation and took my ID no issues. They also asked for a debit card on file I assumed for a hold for the room in case any damages were to occur. I get up to my room and noticed a pending $710 charge on my debit card from the hotel. I immediately went downstairs and the same woman who checked me in said it was not marked on my account I had prepaid and had been charged again. She called someone on the phone to see if it could be taken off and said a manager would have to take care of it in the morning. Even though it was a pending charge the money was taken out of my account and unfortunately caused me to overdraft. I was expecting at most a $100 charge and had not been prepared for a $710 holding charge when I had already paid for the room. I have prepaid rooms at other Marriott locations, Hilton, Disney etc and have never had this happen. It definitely put a damper on my stay. The hotel only also had only 1 working elevator so expect long elevator wait times. Also for the price breakfast is not included. The next morning I go downstairs to inquire again about the pending charge and I was told by a supervisor that the clerk from yesterday was incorrect that they do place a pending charge even if you’ve prepaid and it will be returned or reversed after checkout and will take several business days. No apology, no empathy for my situation. I also stated this should be communicated upon check in and that I’ve never had another hotel do this. I then asked to speak to a manager and she stated she was a supervisor and reluctantly called the manger saying he’s going to tell me the same thing. The manager was the only kind interaction I had with any front desk staff. He explained that it was the hotels policy to do that and would be reversed after checkout. I was crying at this point and he did at least offer a breakfast voucher for myself and my guest but that was all. For $710 this hotel was definitely not worth the price at all and what is the point of prepaying if an additional pending charge for the amount of the room is taken out when checking in. If you stay here expect long elevator wait times, small rooms, and rude employees. I’ve also learned my lesson and will speak up to confirm additional charges or pending transactions when checking in. Parking is also $30 daily. Definitely will never stay here again.
We recently stayed at this hotel and, unfortunately, our experience was very disappointing, especially considering we spent over $300 for one night. The biggest issue was the elevators. There are four elevators, but only two were functioning, which resulted in extremely long wait times. Since the staircases were difficult to locate, we ended up walking up and down multiple flights of stairs to reach our room on the 9th floor. We also ordered a flatbread pizza and spinach dip, both of which were expensive and appeared to have been microwaved. The food was unfortunately inedible. The pool area was another disappointment. There were no towels available, and seating was very limited. Most of the staff members we encountered were not particularly friendly, although Cameron stood out as an exception. He was incredibly sweet and provided the best customer service we experienced during our stay. The room itself was not as clean as expected. The air conditioning unit was very loud and sounded as though it might break at any moment. The shower made similar noises and did not inspire confidence. Overall, this experience did not meet the expectations we had for a hotel stay at this price point. There were simply too many issues to overlook. We left disappointed and hope management addresses these concerns so future guests can have a better experience.
EDIT: I did come back and if I could give this hotel a million stars I would! Jonathan - is absolutely the BEST! He gave me major upgrade and was sooo kind and it was on a day I really needed it. I really felt like I was treated like a QUEEN in QUEEN CITY! I think I will forever love and remember this hotel. This was the perfect stay, beautiful and very friendly and kind staff. Loved it and I will definitely come back.
This was my first time visiting Charlotte, and I chose Le Méridien to celebrate my birthday weekend. I was excited to enjoy the city and make some great memories, but unfortunately, the experience at this hotel did the opposite. From the moment we arrived, the customer service was cold, unwelcoming, and dismissive. We were made to feel like an inconvenience rather than valued guests. Instead of feeling relaxed and excited for my birthday weekend, I was left feeling anxious, uncomfortable, and uncertain throughout much of our stay. A simple interaction with once specific staff member lacked warmth and professionalism, and there was little effort made to create a welcoming environment. Although I did call guest services and Jamella apologized for one staff members behavior and that was nice so thank you for that. Hospitality is about making guests feel comfortable and appreciated, especially those visiting from out of town for a special occasion. Sadly, that was not our experience. I hope management takes this feedback seriously because no guest should leave feeling the way we did.
This hotel is such a disaster it's unreal. First of all you can't even call the hotel. At all. You press the menu buttons and none of them work - go ahead, try it. Even when you call from your own room, it just keeps beeping and nothing happens. As others have said the hallways are pretty grimy, and it didn't seem like any of the housekeepers spoke any English. The area surrounding the hotel is pretty dead The only good parts of this hotel was the super soft and bouncy bed, and the massive gym (though it's technically the Sheraton's gym....)
We absolutely loved this hotel, we’ve even stayed at the Sheridan that’s connected to it and they are equally amazing! It was really nice, clean and quiet, it wasn’t too far from anything lot of stuff including an amazing jazz lounge and a few eateries. They have a nice rooftop lounge which wasn’t bad and gave us something extra to do. It’s decorated nicely and the customer service was okay. It could have been better simply because the first person we spoke with was really nice and we ended up being switched to another person who didn’t really seem like she wanted to be at work. If it wasn’t for the fact that the first person was assisting someone else and explained everything, we wouldn’t know where to park or additional amenities offered to the guests. But other than a few customer service tweaks it was a nice stay.
This was literally the most despicable experience my wife has ever had. It was so bad, we lodged a formal complaint. The check in staff (Brian) and manager (Ron Shuker) treated my wife in such a condescending, rude and demeaning way - belittling her, making her cry and had the audacity to say that they would help her if she said please. It was horrible and borderline abusive. These two should not be in hospitality and don’t represent the values that Marriott espouses. We have never been more upset and disappointed, having stayed in well over 200 Marriott properties over the years